Battle lines drawn: Congress, AAP share seats

Gujarat News, Gujarati News, Latest Gujarati News, Gujarat Breaking News, Gujarat Samachar.

Latest Gujarati News, Breaking News in Gujarati, Gujarat Samachar, ગુજરાતી સમાચાર, Gujarati News Live, Gujarati News Channel, Gujarati News Today, National Gujarati News, International Gujarati News, Sports Gujarati News, Exclusive Gujarati News, Coronavirus Gujarati News, Entertainment Gujarati News, Business Gujarati News, Technology Gujarati News, Automobile Gujarati News, Elections 2022 Gujarati News, Viral Social News in Gujarati, Indian Politics News in Gujarati, Gujarati News Headlines, World News In Gujarati, Cricket News In Gujarati

Battle lines drawn: Congress, AAP share seats

| Updated: February 28, 2024 20:57

The Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) agreed to share seats for the Lok Sabha Elections. The Congress will contest three seats, and the AAP four of the seven Lok Sabha seats in the capital.

The AAP and the Congress comprise the INDIA bloc, an alliance of over 25 opposition parties formed to take on the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the general elections.

In the last elections as well as in 2019, the BJP won all seven Lok Sabha seats in the capital — Chandni Chowk, North East Delhi, East Delhi, New Delhi, North West Delhi, West Delhi and South Delhi.

Before 2014, the Congress had won all seven Lok Sabha seats and six in the 2004 elections. The one seat it lost to the BJP was won by the latter with a margin of just 3.34%. The Congress had a strong presence in Delhi before the BJP usurped the throne that the grand old party once enjoyed.

The AAP is yet to win a Lok Sabha seat in Delhi.

In 2014, the Congress’s vote share significantly decreased, whilst the BJP’s has gained significantly over the last four years. In 2009, the Congress received almost 57% of the total votes cast. It dropped precipitously to 15% in the 2014 elections. In 2019, the BJP’s vote share surged to almost 57%, while the Congress’s share increased a little to 22%.

The AAP won 62 of the 70 seats in the 2020 Delhi Assembly Elections, while the BJP won only eight and the Congress won none, despite only receiving 18% of the vote in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The AAP had won 67 seats in the 2015 assembly elections. The BJP secured 31 seats, and the AAP won 28 in the 2013 legislative elections.

Also Read: Adani Group all set to build premium hotels near SVPI airport

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *