Gujarat HC Gets Five New Judges

| Updated: March 18, 2023 7:59 am

Gujarat High Court Acting Chief Justice A J Desai administered oath to five new judges who were recommended by the Supreme Court Collegium to be elevated to the high court. With the new appointments, Gujarat High Court will now have a functional strength of 29 judges against an approved strength of 52. 

The new judges will take charge on Friday and will be conducting matters as part of two-judge division benches as well as in single-judge court sittings.

The five judicial officers who have been elevated as judges are Justice Susan Valentine Pinto, who was last posted as the principal district and sessions judge at Sabarkantha; Justice Hasmukh Dalsukhbhai Suthar, last posted as the principal district and sessions judge at Banaskantha and formerly the registrar general at Gujarat High Court; Justice Jitendra Champaklal Doshi, last posted as principal district and sessions judge at Godhra; Justice Mangesh Rameshchandra Mengdey, last posted as the principal district judge at district and sessions court in Vadodara; and Justice Divyeshkumar Amrutlal Joshi.

According to the Supreme Court Collegium’s resolutions, the then Chief Justice Aravind Kumar and two senior-most judges of Gujarat High Court recommended the five judges on September 26, 2022, and subsequently the then Chief Minister and Governor approved it.

On March 15, Minister of Law and Justice, Kiran Rijiju tweeted that As per the relevant provisions under the Constitution of India, the following Judicial Officers are appointed as Judges of High Court of Gujarat.

Also Read: From Where Did Kiran Patel Make PMO Visiting Card In Ahmedabad

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *