Gujarat: 2-Day Session Of Gujarat Assembly To Begin; Newly-Elected MLAs To Take Oath

| Updated: December 19, 2022 10:54 am

On Monday, the first day of the two-day session of the House, the newly-elected MLAs of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly will be sworn in.

Elections for the post of speaker and Deputy speaker will be held on Tuesday. Protem speaker and senior-most Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA Yogesh Patel will administer the Oath to the 182 MLAs in the first session of the 15th Legislative Assembly in Gandhinagar on Monday, Gujarat Assembly secretary D Patel said on Sunday. 

On the second day of the two-day session on Tuesday, the new member will meet to elect the speaker, he said. According to official notification issued by the Assembly Secretariat, elections for the posts of Speaker and Deputy Speaker will be held in the first half of Tuesday, and other businesses will be taken up in the second half. 

The BJP, which won the seventh consecutive term in the state with a record mandate in the recent elections, has declared Shankar Chaudhary and Jethabhai Bharwad as candidate for the posts of Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively. 

Bhupendra Patel took oath as the 18th chief minister along with 16 ministers on December 12. Meanwhile, the BJP won 156 seats in the 182-member House, the opposition Congress finished a distant second with 17 seats.  The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won five seats in the debut Assembly contest in Gujarat.

Also Read: Mondays With Manjul, December 19

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *