With Assets Worth ₹4.4L, Pragya Thakur Among Three Poorest MPs   - Vibes Of India

Gujarat News, Gujarati News, Latest Gujarati News, Gujarat Breaking News, Gujarat Samachar.

Latest Gujarati News, Breaking News in Gujarati, Gujarat Samachar, ગુજરાતી સમાચાર, Gujarati News Live, Gujarati News Channel, Gujarati News Today, National Gujarati News, International Gujarati News, Sports Gujarati News, Exclusive Gujarati News, Coronavirus Gujarati News, Entertainment Gujarati News, Business Gujarati News, Technology Gujarati News, Automobile Gujarati News, Elections 2022 Gujarati News, Viral Social News in Gujarati, Indian Politics News in Gujarati, Gujarati News Headlines, World News In Gujarati, Cricket News In Gujarati

With Assets Worth ₹4.4L, Pragya Thakur Among Three Poorest MPs  

| Updated: March 30, 2024 13:19

Bhopal MP Pragya Singh Thakur, who wasn’t given a ticket by the BJP for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, is the third poorest MP, the ADR analysis said. She has declared assets worth ₹4.4 Lakh.  

This time, Thakur has been replaced by Alok Sharma, a former mayor, for the Lok Sabha elections. Thakur won in 2019 from Bhopal seat in Madhya Pradesh. Thakur defeated veteran Congress leader Digvijaya Singh by a margin of 3.65 lakh votes. 

Thakur, accused in the 2008 Malegaon blast case, has often courted controversies with her statements.  

In her affidavit filed in the run up to Lok Sabha elections 2019, Thakur had mentioned a silver-coated brick that had Ram engraved on it. BJP had then said that the brick was meant for the construction of the Ram Mandir at Ayodhya in Uttar Pradesh. 

YSRCP leader Goddeti Madhavi, who is an MP from Araku in Andhra Pradesh is the poorest of all Lok Sabha members. She has declared assets worth ₹1.4 lakhs. Madhavi is followed by Chandrani Murmu, BJD MP from Koenjhar with declared assets worth ₹ 3. 4 Lakh. 

Intrestingly, all three poorest Lok Sabha MPs are women, according to the ADR analysis. The analysis was released on March 28, two days after the Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman said she cannot afford to contest elections. 

According to the ADR, the average assets per sitting MP for Lok Sabha 2019 elections are ₹ 20.71 crore.  

While the poorest MP has less than ₹ 2 lakh net worth, the richest, Congress’ Nakul Nath, had declared assets worth ₹660 crore in 2019.  

Among poorest Rajya Sabha MPs, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Balbir Singh is the poorest with assets worth ₹3.72 lakh, ADR said last year. Singh is followed by BJP’s Maharaja Sanajaoba Leishemba from Manipur who has assets worth ₹5.48 lakh and jailed MP of AAP Sanjay Singh who has declared assets worth ₹6.60 lakh. 

Also Read: IIMA’s PGPX Batch Will Have Graduates From 30 Sectors

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *