Four Foreign Students Asked To Vacate Gujarat Varsity Hostel In Week's Time - Vibes Of India

Gujarat News, Gujarati News, Latest Gujarati News, Gujarat Breaking News, Gujarat Samachar.

Latest Gujarati News, Breaking News in Gujarati, Gujarat Samachar, ગુજરાતી સમાચાર, Gujarati News Live, Gujarati News Channel, Gujarati News Today, National Gujarati News, International Gujarati News, Sports Gujarati News, Exclusive Gujarati News, Coronavirus Gujarati News, Entertainment Gujarati News, Business Gujarati News, Technology Gujarati News, Automobile Gujarati News, Elections 2022 Gujarati News, Viral Social News in Gujarati, Indian Politics News in Gujarati, Gujarati News Headlines, World News In Gujarati, Cricket News In Gujarati

Four Foreign Students Asked To Vacate Gujarat Varsity Hostel In Week’s Time

| Updated: April 8, 2024 12:41

Less than a month after several foreign students were injured in a clash with a local mob of intruders over namaz offering on Gujarat University campus in Ahmedabad, four overseas students have been asked to vacate the hostel this week. Officials said the visa of these students had expired.
The number of international students asked to vacate the hostel since the incident over documentation-related matters has now risen to eight.
Among the four students asked to vacate the hostel this week, three are from Afghanistan and one from East Africa.
Five foreign students were injured on March 16 when a group of 20-25 people allegedly barged into their hostel and assaulted them for offering namaz during Ramzan in the hostel building. The incident had prompted visits by an Afghan and a Gambian delegation which raised safety concerns.
There is no student from Afghanistan at the varsity in the academic session 2023-24 after the central government’s revision of related policy.
There are around 300 foreign students enrolled under the ICCR scholarship in Gujarat University while the state has around 1,100 such students.
The 300 GU students — around 70 are hostel residents — are from countries like Sri Lanka, Nepal, Vietnam, Mauritius, Bangladesh, Indonesia, African countries including Nigeria, Kenya, Ghana, Malawi, Tanzania, Uganda, Angola, Mali, Mozambique, Botswana, and Kenya.

Also Read: Mumbai Indians Triumph in Special Match Dedicated to ESA Initiative

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *