Gujarat Assembly: BJP Tally Reaches 160 As Three Independents Pledge Support

| Updated: December 20, 2022 12:25 pm

Just prior to commencement of session of the 15th legislative assembly in the state, three independent MLAs who secured a win in the recently held elections pledged their support to the BJP.

The three Independent MLAs Dharmendrasinh Vaghela, Dhavalsinh Jhala and Mavji Desai who won from Waghodia, Bayad and Dhanera respectively met the Governor of Gujarat Acharya Devvrat and announced their support to the ruling party. It is pertinent to note that all the three MLA who won contesting as independents, belonged to BJP camp. They defied the BJP diktat to give ticket to someone else and jumped into fray as independents.

Dharemdrasinh Vaghela From Vaghodia

In the recently held assembly elections, BJP gave a ticket to District BJP President Ashwin Patel  and denied sitting MLA Madhu Srivastava a ticket on Waghodia seat. While Madhu Srivastava decided to contest as an independent, lesser known Dharmendra Singh Vaghela also contested as an independent. Former Youth Congress leader Satyajit Gaikwad fought on Congress ticket. Dharmendra Singh Vaghela won by 77,905 votes beating flamboyant Madhu Srivastav and BJP candidate Ashwin Patel who got 63,899 votes. Dharmendra Singh Vaghela has announced his support to BJP after taking oath.

Dhawal Singh Jhala won from Bayad

Dhavalsingh Jhala  won from the Bayad seat of Aravalli. When the BJP denied him the ticket, he too filed his nomination as an independent candidate. In the contest  on Bayad assembly seat in Aravalli district,  BJP  fielded Bhikhiben Parmar and Congress had given ticket to Mahendrasinh Vaghela, son of former Gujarat Chief Minister and friend-turned-foe of BJP, Shankarsinh Vaghela. Chunibhai Patel contested on  Aam Aadmi Party ticket.Independent candidate Dhavalsingh Jhala defeated all of them.

Mavji Desai won from Dhanera

BJP fileded Bhagwanji Chowdhary from Dhanera seat, while Congress fielded Nathabhai Patel and AAP, Suresh Davda. When BJP denied ticket to Mavji Desai, he contested as an independent.  Mavji Desai won from Dhanera seat with a lead of 35,696.

Also Read: Rajasthan To Bring Down LPG Prices

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *