Gujarat: Income Tax Department Had Chief Commissioner-TDS For Only 6 Days

| Updated: November 25, 2021 6:26 pm

The Income Tax Department in Gujarat does not have the full panel of eight senior Income Tax officers. The position of full-time chief commissioners were vacant since July and additional duties were given to in-charge officers. The Central Board of Direct Taxes has left the post of the Chief Commissioner for Tax Deducted at Source vacant in the State.           

 CCIT-Rajkot, IRS Ravindra Patel, was transferred as CCIT-TDS on July 26, 2021. He retired from service on July 31, 2021, having served as CCIT-TDS, for only six days. Therefore, the Income Tax department in Gujarat has had a full-time CCIT-TDS for a grand total of exactly six days in the past 13 months. 

The office of the CCIT-TDS in Ahmedabad got vacated after the demise of Debashish Roy Choudhary in October 2020. Dr Rananjay Singh, serving as the CCIT-ReAC Vadodara, was given charge of TDS. Dr Singh superannuated from the Indian Revenue Service (IRS) on June 30, 2021. Meanwhile, no full-time CCIT-TDS has been appointed. 

Satinder Singh Rana was appointed CCIT-1 Ahmedabad on July 26. He took on additional charge of CCIT-TDS six days later, essentially handling four offices at the same time. Till date he continues to hold the charge of CCIT-TDS.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *