Gujarat Polls: Two ‘Lucky’ Seats That Gave Four Chief Ministers

| Updated: November 15, 2022 2:38 pm

The two seats of Ghatlodia and Rajkot West are turning out to be quite lucky. As many as, four Chief Ministers were elected from these seats.

In 2017, Bhupendra Patel, who was elected from Ghatlodia seat, became the Chief Minister in place of Vijay Rupani. Rupani was elected from the Rajkot West seat. In the year 2012, Anandiben Patel was also elected from the Ghatlodia seat and became the Chief Minister of the state. Narendra Modi, who became the Chief Minister in place of Keshubhai Patel, contested from the then Rajkot-2 seat in the year 2001. After the delimitation, the Rajkot-2 seat was made into Rajkot West.

The Ghatlodia seat has been dominated by the Patidar community, though Rabari community is dominant too. There are a total of 3,52,340 voters in this seat. The seat is important for BJP as BJP candidates have won twice consecutively from this seat. In the 2012 assembly election, BJP gave ticket to Anandiben Patel from Ghatlodia seat, who defeated the Congress candidate Rameshbhai Patel by a margin of more than one lakh votes.

Later, Anandiben Patel had to let go the post of Chief Minister after the Patidar reservation movement. Bhupendra Patel contested in the last assembly elections and won with a huge lead and became the Chief Minister of the state. 

Bhupendra Patel will fill the nomination form in Vijay Muhurat on Wednesday from the Ghatlodia assembly seat in Ahmedabad. He was elected in 2017 election with a huge margin with the highest lead of 1.17 lakh in all 182 assembly seats of the state. 

CMs Down the Years

After the formation of Gujarat in 1960, Jivraj Mehta became the first Chief Minister of the state. In the year 1962, Jivaraj Mehta won the election in Amreli. Balwantrai Mehta became the second Chief Minister of Gujarat. Hitendra Desai, who won from the Olpad seat in the 1962 elections, was the CM of the state from 1965 to 1971. Ghanshyam Ojha, who won the 1972 election, was CM for one year. In its second year i.e. 1973, Chimanbhai Patel became the CM of the state for 207 days. In 1975 Gujarat also came under Emergency rule. In 1976-77, Madhav Singh Solanki was elected from the Bhadran seat and became the CM for 107 days. In the year of April 1977, MLA from Sabarmati constituency, Babubhai Jasbhai Patel, became the Chief Minister. Amarsingh Chaudhary, who won the election from Vyara in the year 1985, became the CM for four years. In 1989, Madhav Singh Solanki became the Chief Minister in his place. After that, MLA from Mahuwa, Chhabildas became the CM. In the year 1995, Visavdar MLA Keshubhai Patel became CM for 221 days. However, the following year, Suresh Mehta assumed the post of CM. Shankarsinh Vaghela, who was elected from Radhanpur became the Chief Minister in 1996 after the Khajuraho controversy. Dilip Parikh became the Chief Minister in the year 1997. Keshubhai Patel became CM again in 1998. Keshubhai resigned from the post of CM and Narendra Modi became the CM of Gujarat in his place. Modi became CM for the first time after being elected from Rajkot West seat. After that, Modi became the CM three times after being elected from Maninagar seat in Ahmedabad in 2002, 2007 and 2012.

Also Read: Gujarat Defends Organ Transplant Policy

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *