MP Beat 41-Time Winner Mumbai To Clinch Ranji Trophy

| Updated: June 26, 2022 5:00 pm

Sunday saw the Madhya Pradesh (MP) cricket team re-write history. Under the leadership of Aditya Shrivastava, the team defeated 41-time champions Mumbai by six wickets at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, to clinch their first-ever Ranji Trophy title.

This was MP’s first Ranji Trophy final in 23 years. Back in the 1998-99 season, they were pitted against Karnataka at the same venue but lost the finals by 96 runs.

Chasing a 108-run target, wicketkeeper-batter Himanshu Mantri top-scored with 37 while Shubham Sharma played a 30-run innings. Star batter Rajat Patidar contributed with an unbeaten knock of 30 runs, scoring the winning runs to take MP home.

Also Read: In Next Three Years Gujarat Will Have More Footballers Than Cricketers: Parimal Nathwani

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *