Sharath, Sathiyan Lend Star Power To National Ranking TT Championship In Surat

| Updated: January 25, 2023 9:40 pm

The ongoing last National ranking table tennis championship for season 2022 which is organised in Surat, Gujarat. Many star players are going to participate in this tournament, which started on Monday.

The Gujarat challenge in the under-13 category ended on the 3rd day of event with all paddlers bowing out in the early rounds of the UTT National Ranking Table Tennis Championships played on Wednesday. 

Ahmedabad’s Mouboni Chatterjee and Jiya Tridevi won their first-round matches but failed to cross the second-round hurdle in the girls’ section. Charmy Trivedi lost in the first round. In the boys’ section, for round 2 Manav Mehta and Samarth Singh Shekhawat also lost. Malav Panchal and Vihaan Tiwari were defeated in the first round. 

Eight Gujarat paddlers fought well to make it to the main draw of the under-15 category. 

In the boys section, Aayush Tanna, Himansh Dahiya, Malav Panchal and Janmejay Patel made the cut while in the girls section, Pratha Pawar, Riana Bhoota, Nidhi Prajapati and Jiya Trivedi booked their main draw berths.

In the under-13 boys final, PSPB A’s Sahil Rawat posted a comfortable 3-1 victory over Bengal A’s to lay his hands on the winners trophy. In the girls final, Raina Bhoota (MAHA A) came up with a clinical show to beat her state mate Divyanshi Bhowmick 3-1. 

Final results U13: Girls: Riana Bhoota (MAHA A) bt Divyanshi Bhowmick (MAHA A) 3-1 (11-9, 10-12, 11-2, 11-2); Boys: Sahil Rawat (PSPB A) bt Aditya Das (BEN A) 3-1 (11-2, 9-11, 11-3, 12-10).

Qualifying results U-15: Boys: Aayush Tanna (GUJ) bt Vatsal Duklan (HAR) 3-1 (11-5, 13-11, 4-11, 11-4); Himansh Dahiya (GUJ) bt Nandi Sourajyoti (BEN B) 3-1 (11-4, 11-3, 8-11, 11-4); Malav Panchal (GUJ) bt Prince Kumar (HAR) 3-1 (4-11, 11-1, 11-6, 11-3,); Janmejay Patel (GUJ) bt Dekate Yashwant (CG) 3-1 (8-11, 11-7, 11-4, 11-5); Girls: Pratha Pawar (GUJ) bt Swara Karmakar (MAHA B) 3-0 (14-12, 11-3, 11-9); Riya Jayswal (GUJ) bt Aanya Gupta (PUN) 3-0 (11-1, 11-7, 11-5); Nidhi Prajapati (GUJ) bt Pratishtha Toshniwal (TTFI) 3-0 (11-9, 11-9, 11-8); Jiya Trivedi (GUJ) bt Aashini Anand (TN) 3-0 (11-3, 11-7, 11-8).

According to the organiser, the star players will be participating in this tournament which will include Arujana Awardee Sharath Kamal and Harmeet Desai, Manav Thakkar and many more. 

Yesterday, on the 2nd day, India’s fast bowler, Munaf Patel made a surprise visit to the venue to encourage the players. 

Also, from Gujarat seven paddlers have booked their main draw berths in the U13 category. In the under 13 boy’s category, Ahmedabad boys Malav Panchal, Vihaan Tiwari got through their qualifying matches easily. Meanwhile, in girl’s category Ahmedabad paddlers Mouboni Chatterjee and Jiya Trivedi and Bhavangar’s Charmy Trivedi worked their way to the main draw.

Also Read: Indian-American From Gujarat Shot Dead In US

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *