Shinde Govt Proves Majority in Maharashtra Assembly

| Updated: July 4, 2022 11:57 am

The Maharashtra government led by Eknath Shinde received 164 votes in favor during today’s trust vote in the Maharashtra Assembly, crossing the 144-vote majority mark.

The development follows a high-voltage political crisis in the state, in which a new government led by rebel Shiv Sena MLA Shinde took power, deposing the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) regime.

Earlier on Sunday evening, Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde met with Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, BJP MLAs, and other party leaders at a hotel in Mumbai to plan a strategy for the floor test.

In the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly, the BJP currently has 106 MLAs, while Shinde leads 39 rebel Shiv Sena legislators and some Independents.

On Sunday, the Shinde-led camp and the BJP scored a major victory when BJP’s Rahul Narwekar was elected Speaker of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly, defeating Shiv Sena candidate Rajan Salvi.

Your email address will not be published.