Surya, Harman Bag Top Wisden Honours

Gujarat News, Gujarati News, Latest Gujarati News, Gujarat Breaking News, Gujarat Samachar.

Latest Gujarati News, Breaking News in Gujarati, Gujarat Samachar, ગુજરાતી સમાચાર, Gujarati News Live, Gujarati News Channel, Gujarati News Today, National Gujarati News, International Gujarati News, Sports Gujarati News, Exclusive Gujarati News, Coronavirus Gujarati News, Entertainment Gujarati News, Business Gujarati News, Technology Gujarati News, Automobile Gujarati News, Elections 2022 Gujarati News, Viral Social News in Gujarati, Indian Politics News in Gujarati, Gujarati News Headlines, World News In Gujarati, Cricket News In Gujarati

Surya, Harman Bag Top Wisden Honours 

| Updated: April 18, 2023 21:03

The Indian duo of Suryakumar Yadav and Harmanpreet Kaur have added another feather to their overflowing hat of accolades after bagging the Wisden Almanack’s leading cricketer in the World awards.

While Harmanpreet Kaur became the first Indian woman to win Cricketer of the Year, Suryakumar was named Wisden Almanack’s best T20I cricketer.

For Suryakumar, the year 2022 in T20Is was a lot like a net session. He collected runs for delight wherever he went, totalling 1164 at an astounding strike rate of 187.43. No T20I batter has ever done this in a calendar year, which includes 68 sixes.

His two centuries and nine half-tons, including three alone in the 2022 T20 World Cup, assisted India in winning 28 of their 40 games last year. His most memorable performance in 2022 was a 55-ball 117 at Nottingham, which also happened to be his first T20 hundred.

Harmanpreet Kaur is the first player from India’s women’s cricket team to be chosen as a Wisden Cricketer of the Year. She was selected mostly for her 143* at Canterbury. Tom Blundell, Daryl Mitchell, Matthew Potts, and Ben Foakes are the other four of the 2023 Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack’s five Cricketers of the Year. She is one of them.

It’s a well-deserved distinction for the Indian women’s cricket team’s 2022 champion after she guided the Women in Blue to a silver medal at the Commonwealth Games in 2022 and a first-ever 3-0 ODI series victory on English soil.

She continued to make history and rewrite it with her talent and dedication to the sport, scoring 524 T20I runs and 754 ODI runs, including an undefeated 143 in the England ODIs. England’s Jonny Bairstow was also awarded for his outstanding performance in Test cricket last year.

“A stunning display from England’s man of the summer makes him the inaugural winner of The Wisden Trophy, awarded for the outstanding Test performance of the year,” Wisden Cricket announced on their Twitter handle.

The most recent Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack dubbed England captain Ben Stokes the “Leading Cricketer in the World.” The 31-year-old all-rounder was instrumental in England’s victory over Pakistan in the T20 World Cup final in November, and led England to nine victories in 10 Test matches.

Ben Stokes

Before Stokes was named captain in April of last year, England had only won once in their previous 17 Test matches. For the third time, he has been named the best cricketer. He previously held the title in 2019 and 2020, while Joe Root, a fellow countryman, won it in 2021.

Also Read: UGC Bars NMIMS From Offering Online Courses; Cautions Aspirants Not To Enroll

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *