Assembly Election 2023: Mizoram

Gujarat News, Gujarati News, Latest Gujarati News, Gujarat Breaking News, Gujarat Samachar.

Latest Gujarati News, Breaking News in Gujarati, Gujarat Samachar, ગુજરાતી સમાચાર, Gujarati News Live, Gujarati News Channel, Gujarati News Today, National Gujarati News, International Gujarati News, Sports Gujarati News, Exclusive Gujarati News, Coronavirus Gujarati News, Entertainment Gujarati News, Business Gujarati News, Technology Gujarati News, Automobile Gujarati News, Elections 2022 Gujarati News, Viral Social News in Gujarati, Indian Politics News in Gujarati, Gujarati News Headlines, World News In Gujarati, Cricket News In Gujarati

Assembly Election 2023: ZPM Likely To Win Big In Mizoram

| Updated: December 4, 2023 10:24

Assembly Election 2023: Mizoram

The result of 40 assembly seats in the Mizoram election would be clear by 11 AM today. Total seats required for majority is 21. At present Zoramthanga of Mizo National Front is the Chief Minister. Other major contestants are Lal Thanhawla (Congress) and Laldohuma ( Zoram people’s Movement). While MNF, INC and ZPM are in the fray to contest all 40 seats, BJP  and AAP are contesting 23 and 4 seats respectively. The mood of the people in the election 2023 seems to be tilting towards ZPM.

Land of Hill People

One of the “Seven Sisters” Mizoram is a hilly state in the Northeast of India.Mizoram was granted statehood on February 20, 1987 by 53rd amendment to the constitution.Mizoram was a district of Assam, known as Lushai Hills District, prior to becoming a centrally administered territory in 1972.

Strategically located between Myanmar to the east and south and Bangladesh to the west, Mizoram became the 23rd state of India after a historic accord between Rajiv Gandhi’s Congress Government and the Mizo National Front in 1986. The word Mizoram is made of two words Mizo and Ram, meaning Land of the Hill people. In the local language, word  Mizo is made of Mi and Zo where Mi means People and Zo means the name of a progenitor. Mizo thus means People of Zo origin.


87% of the population in Mizoram is Christian, mostly due to the influence of British missionaries during colonisation in the 19th century. The literacy rate in Mizoram has increased rapidly. It is currently 88.8%, which is second only to Kerala in the entire country

Assembly Elections 2018

Since the attainment of full statehood, the Mizoram National Front (MNF) and the Indian National Congress (INC) have been the two main parties in Mizoram’s assembly elections.

In the first assembly election held in 1987, the MNF and independents won 24 seats and formed the government. Lal Denga, the founder of the MNF, became the first chief minister of Mizoram.

In the second assembly election held in 1989, the INC won 23 seats and formed the government. Lal Thanhawla became the chief minister.

In the third assembly election held in 1993, the INC won 16 seats, the MNF won 14 seats, and independents won 10 seats. Lal Thanhawla again became the chief minister.

In the fourth assembly election held in 1998, the MNF won 21 seats and formed the government. Zoramthanga became the chief minister.

In the fifth assembly election held in 2003, the MNF again won 21 seats and formed the government. Zoramthanga again became the chief minister.

In the sixth assembly election held in 2008, the INC won 32 seats and Lal Thanhawla again became the chief minister.

In the seventh assembly election held in 2013, the INC won 34 seats and Lal Thanhawla again became the chief minister.

In the eighth assembly election held in 2018, the MNF won 28 seats and Zoramthanga again became the chief minister.

Key Seats

Aizawl East (1): The incumbent chief minister of Mizoram, Zoramthanga, is contesting from this seat against Lalsangluru Ralte of the Congress and Lalthansanga of the Zomi People’s Movement (ZPM).

Serchhip: This seat is being contested by Lalduhhoma of the ZPM, Jemalsawmi Zualavang of the MNF, and R. Vanlaltluanga of the Congress.

Aizawl West (3): The state president of the Congress, Lalsawta, is facing off against K. Lalsawmvela of the MNF and VL Zaithanzama of the ZPM.

Dempa: This seat is being contested by Vanlalhlunauka of the BJP, Lalhimingthanga of the Congress, Lalrintluanga Sailo of the MNF, and Vanlalsailingo of the ZPM.

Hachek: This seat is being contested by Lalrindiki Ralte of the Congress, Malsawmtluanga of the BJP, Robert Romawia Royte of the MNF, and KJ Lalbiakhangte of the ZPM.

Assembly Elections: Rahul Admits Defeat, TMC Claims Role Reposition Within INDIA: Read also

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *