MICA Announces Setting Up Of Chair Professorships 

| Updated: January 11, 2023 4:46 pm

In a first, MICA, Ahmedabad, has announced the setting up of Chair Professorships. The announcement has been made to encourage and recognize its faculty members for contributing to their respective fields.

The institute has announced two chair professorships, named after two of its founding fathers – AG Krishnamurthy and Mani Ayer. After a stringent evaluation process, the institute has announced Prof Shaphali Gupta as the Mani Ayer Chair Professor of Marketing and Prof. Varsha Jain as the AG Krishnamurthy Chair Professor of Marketing.

Dr. Shailendra Raj Mehta, President & Director, MICA, said, “Prof. Varsha Jain and Prof. Shaphali Gupta are outstanding in their research and academic contribution and have received numerous awards, both nationally as well as globally. Their ability to integrate global knowledge with theoretical concepts makes their classes extremely engaging for the students. I congratulate both professors for this achievement.”

 Dr. Githa Hegde, Dean, MICA, said, “MICA truly believes in “betting on its people” quoting Dhirubhaism by A G Krishnamurthy. This has been instrumental in nurturing and attracting exceptionally high-quality faculty to the school.”

 Prof. Shaphali Gupta shared, “Academia gives me the knowledge wings to soar high. I am grateful to the domain and MICA for bestowing me with the Endowed Chair Professor position.” 

Speaking about her achievement, Prof. Varsha Jain said, “This chair position means a lot to me as AGK was a legend in advertising, and my work relates to his profile.”

Chairs are occupied by Professors who have distinguished themselves and been recognized by their peers for their research, innovation and/or technology development. The selection committee consisted of six academic experts – two from A-league institutions (international), two from A-league institutions (national) and two internal members. 

Also Read: Gujarat’s Hidden Gem: Explore Vansda National Park

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *