Two Gujarati Women Among 29 Awarded ‘Nari Shakti Puraskar’

| Updated: March 8, 2022 9:12 pm

Two Gujarati women have brought glory to the state after being honoured with ‘Nari Shakti Puraskar’.

International Women’s Day celebration began in New Delhi on March 1, as part of ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’. It is a matter of pride for Gujarat that Niranjanaben Mukulbhai Kararthu and Ushaben Dineshbhai Vasava, have been chosen for this award for their outstanding contribution to the society.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will interact with the recipients of this award to applaud their efforts and inspire people to work and excel in areas related to women empowerment.

The ‘Nari Shakti Puraskar’ (Women Power Award) is an initiative of the Ministry of Women and Child Development . It recognises the extraordinary contribution of individuals and organisations that act as a catalyst for positive change in society. The award seeks to identify women as equal partners in the progress of society.

The winners of the ‘Nari Shakti Puraskar’ for the year 2020 have been selected from various fields such as entrepreneurship, agriculture, innovation, social work, arts and crafts, STEMM and wildlife conservation.

Winners of Women Power Award for the year 2021 have been selected from fields such as linguistics, entrepreneurship, agriculture, social work, arts and crafts, Merchant navy, STEMM, education and literature and rights of the disabled.

The President awarded Niranjanaben Mukulbhai Kalarthi with ‘Nari Shakti Puraskar’ for promoting Gujarati literature and educating deprived tribal girls. At the same time, Ushaben Dineshbhai Vasava was awarded ‘Nari Shakti Puraskar’ for her unprecedented contribution to organic farming and women farmers at the grassroots level.

Other women who were honoured with this award by the President are Aarti Rana, a handloom weaver and teacher in Mandi, Uttar Pradesh and Sathupati Prasanna Sree, a linguist in Vishakapatnam, Andhra Pradesh who preserves minority tribal languages. Pooja Sharma a farmer and entrepreneur in Gurugram, Haryana was also honoured by the Nari Shakti Award for her exceptional work.

Twenty nine women were honoured by President Ram Nath Kovid with these awards for 2020 and 2021.

Nari Shakti Puraskar winners for 2020 are Ushaben Dineshbhai Vasava, Anita Gupta, Aarti Rana, Dr.Ela Lodh, Jaya Muthu & Tejamma, Jodhaiya Bai Baiga, Meera Thakur, Nasira Akhter, Nivruti Rai, Padma Yangchan, Sandhya Dhar, Saylee Nandkishor Agavane, Tiffany Brar and Vanita Jagdeo Borade. 

Among the women who received the award for 2021 are Niranjanaben Mukulbhai Kalarthi, Anshul Malhotra, Batool Begam, Kamal Kumbhar, Madhulika Ramteke, Neena Gupta, Neerja Madhav, Pooja Sharma, Radhika Menon, Sathupati Prassana Sree, Shobha Gasti, Sruti Mohapatra, Tage Rita Takhe and Thara Rangaswamy.

Read Also: Women’s Day 2022: Significance, Theme And All That We Can Share With Everybody

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *