CM Patel, 20 Ministers To Be Sworn-In On Monday 

| Updated: December 10, 2022 5:33 pm

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is all ready to form the government in Gujarat for the seventh straight term on December 12. Party.  Bhupendra Patel will take oath as chief minister again, along with 20 other cabinet ministers. 

Gujarat chief minister Bhupendra Patel on Friday submitted his resignation to Governor Acharya Devvat after BJP observed a historic win in the State Assembly elections ahead of the formation of his new government. 

The BJP won 156 seats in the Gujarat Assembly election, the most seats won by any party since the state was formed in 1960.

Gujarat, the home state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah, the BJP has cracked all previous records of electoral performance. 

Bhupendra Patel scripted history by winning the Ghatlodia constituency by a record margin of about 1,92,000 votes. Meanwhile, AAP CM face Isudan Gadhvi lost the Khambhaliya seat to BJP candidate Hardasbhai Bera by 19,000 votes. Also, Gujarat’s Mos Home, Harsh Sanghvi bagged the Majura constituency with a margin of 1,16,000. 

Notably, BJP bagged the Morbi seat where the party had fielded Kantilal Amrutiyam who saved lives and grabbed headlines as ‘hero of Morbi’ after the bridge collapse. 

BJP MLA Kishor Kanani wins the Varachha seat of Surat, defeating AAP candidate ALpesh Kathiriya while AAP Gujarat chief Gopal Itlia also had to face defeat against the BJP s’ Vinod Moradiya. 

Rivaba Jadeja, wife of cricketer Ravindrasinh Jadeja, won her seat in Jamnagar North by 88,119 votes. Hardik Patel, former leader of Patidar Anamat Andolan Saimiti (PAAS), who joined BJP ahead of the polls, bagged 49.64 per cent votes on course to winning the Viramgam constituency. 

This time, former BJP MLA Dhavalsinh Zala, who fought as an Independent, defeated the ruling party Bhikhiben Parmar by around 6,000 votes. Congress candidate from Vadagam, Jignesh Mevani, who was trailing during the early rounds of counting, later won the seat by around 4,000 votes. 

Among the prominent seats that BJP won this time were Congress bastions Mahudha and Thasra of Kheda, Borsad of Anand and Vyara.  These seats were held by Congress since Independence. Mohan Konkani of the BJP bagged the prestigious Vyara seat. 

The BJP also won 24 out of 27 ST reserved seats in Gujarat, an increase of 12 seats as compared to the last elections. The tribals, too, voted for BJP in huge numbers. In 2017 elections, BJP won 99 seats, Congress trailed close at 77 and NCP, BTP and Independent candidates secured 1,2 and 3 seats, respectively. 

Also Read: 15 Meetings Of G20 Will Take Place In Gujarat Across 5 locations 

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *