Kajol, Reema, Suriya Invited To Oscars Award Panel

| Updated: June 29, 2022 10:28 am

Bollywood star Kajol, South Indian actor-producer Suriya and filmmaker-writer Reema Kagti are among the 397 artists and executives to have received an invitation to join as members of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences. The list of new members was announced by the Academy, Tuesday. The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences organises the Oscar awards annually.

Other Indians who have received the invitation this year include documentary filmmakers Sushmit Ghosh and Rintu Thomas whose film “Writing with Fire” fetched a nomination at the Oscars earlier this year. “Deadpool” producer Aditya Sood and PR and marketing professional Sohini Sengupta are also on the list. Among other names figure artistes Ariana DeBose, Billie Eilish, Jamie Dornan and Troy Kotsur.

Suriya is one of the most prominent actors and producers of Tamil cinema. His film Soorarai Pottru was India’s official entry to Oscars 2021. The actor is also known for blockbusters such as Jai Bhim, Ghajini, Singham series among others.

Reema Kagti’s prominent films include Talaash, Honeymoon Travels Pvt Ltd. She runs the production house Tiger Baby with Zoya Akhtar and together the duo has produced Gully Boy and the web series Made In Heaven.

Filmmakers Sushmit Ghosh and Rintu Thomas rose to prominence for their film Winds of Fire which earned a nomination to the Best Documentary Feature category at the Oscars 2022. Producer Aditya Sood has been associated with films like The Martian and the Deadpool series.

What does an invitation to join the Academy mean?

Each year, the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences invites artists and executives from across the world to be a part of the film body as members. Once inducted, the members are eligible to vote for the Oscar awards which take place in Los Angeles annually. The membership is not just a matter of honour but many see it as a form of representation.

Notable Indian alumni in the Academy

Several Indian actors and technicians are already a part of the Academy. Some of these names include actors like Shah Rukh Khan, Aamir Khan, Salman Khan, AR Rahman, Madhuri Dixit, Vidya Balan, Ali Fazal, Amitabh Bachchan, Priyanka Chopra and Ekta Kapoor.

Also Read: Jonas Bros To Get Their Star At Hollywood Walk Of Fame

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *