Presidential Election Result: 10 Gujarat MLAs Cross-voted

| Updated: July 21, 2022 10:56 pm

The NDA presidential candidate Draupadi Murmu on Thursday won the election with a great lead and became the first tribal president of India. What has caught everyone’s eye is the extra votes that President designate Murmu got.The President-designate even got votes from opposition party MLAs.

The opposition parties got a big blow as they could not keep their house in order. 17 MPs have cross-voted in support of Murmu and as many as 113 MLAs have cross-voted.

In Gujarat, as many as 10 MLAs cross-voted in favour of NDA’s Presidential candidate. According to sources 2 BTP MLAs and 7 Congress MLAs along with NCP’s Kandhal Jadeja voted for Murmu.

Gujarat Congress has 64 MLAs including Jignesh Mevani. Out of total of 64, Yashwant Sinha got only 57 votes. According to sources one MLA is from North Gujarat, one is from South Gujarat and a trio have voted for NDA Presidential candidate.

Also Read: Droupadi Murmu Becomes India’s First Tribal President

Your email address will not be published.