Indian Leaders Disqualified Post Conviction In Separate Scams...

Gujarat News, Gujarati News, Latest Gujarati News, Gujarat Breaking News, Gujarat Samachar.

Latest Gujarati News, Breaking News in Gujarati, Gujarat Samachar, ગુજરાતી સમાચાર, Gujarati News Live, Gujarati News Channel, Gujarati News Today, National Gujarati News, International Gujarati News, Sports Gujarati News, Exclusive Gujarati News, Coronavirus Gujarati News, Entertainment Gujarati News, Business Gujarati News, Technology Gujarati News, Automobile Gujarati News, Elections 2022 Gujarati News, Viral Social News in Gujarati, Indian Politics News in Gujarati, Gujarati News Headlines, World News In Gujarati, Cricket News In Gujarati

Indian Leaders Disqualified Post Conviction In Separate Scams, Rioting Cases, Hate Speeches

| Updated: March 24, 2023 17:57

In a huge setback for the Congress, former president and MP Rahul Gandhi stands disqualified from the Lok Sabha because of his conviction in a 2019 criminal defamation case. The decision was made in accordance with Article 102(1) (e). However, he is not the only leader whose membership has been terminated following a conviction.

Here’s a list of other prominent leaders who were disqualified from the Lok Sabha following conviction: 

Lalu Prasad Yadav (RJD)

Former Bihar chief minister and Union minister of Railways (2004-2009), Lalu Yadav was convicted in 2013 in a fodder scam case.

Azam Khan (SP)

Former Uttar Pradesh Cabinet minister Azam Khan was sentenced last year in a hate speech case. After this, he was ousted from representing Rampur Sadar constituency 

J. Jayalalithaa (AIADMK)

Late chief minister of Tamil Nadu, J. Jayalalithaa had to lose her post twice. She was convicted for the first time in 2002 in a corruption case. After this, in 2014, she was convicted in a disproportionate assets case.

Kuldeep Singh Sengar (BJP)\

BJP MLA from Unnao, Kuldeep Singh Sengar, was convicted in the infamous rape case of a Dalit, three years ago. 

In case of the fodder scam case, other RJD leaders who faced the axe are Jagdish Sharma. RJD leaders Anil Kumar Sahni, Anant Singh, Raj Ballabh Yadav and Ilyas Hussain have also been disqualified in separate cases.

Haryana and Kerala: 

Congress MLA Pradeep Chaudhary from Haryana was convicted in 2021 in a case related to a decade-old riot. On the other hand, P. Jayarajan of CPM (violation of election rules in 2001), A. Raja (in election fraud, 2023), P.C. Thomas and K.M. Shaji, all from Kerala, have been disqualified in separate matters post-conviction. 


KK Bhagat of AJSU was disqualified in 2015. Amit Mahto and Yogendra Mahto of JMM were punished in 2018. In 2018, Enos Ekka of the Jharkhand Party was sentenced. Last year, Congress siblings Tirkey and Mamta Devi were disqualified after being convicted.

Who was disqualified from Tamil Nadu?

Apart from Jayalalithaa in 2014, AIADMK MLA from Tamil Nadu, T.M. Selvaganpathy was convicted in a corruption case. In 2019, BJP’s P. Balakrishna Reddy was convicted.

Also Read: 14 Opposition Parties Move SC On Misuse Of Central Agencies, Matter Listed For April 5

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *