Who will be the next Lok Sabha Speaker? 

Gujarat News, Gujarati News, Latest Gujarati News, Gujarat Breaking News, Gujarat Samachar.

Latest Gujarati News, Breaking News in Gujarati, Gujarat Samachar, ગુજરાતી સમાચાર, Gujarati News Live, Gujarati News Channel, Gujarati News Today, National Gujarati News, International Gujarati News, Sports Gujarati News, Exclusive Gujarati News, Coronavirus Gujarati News, Entertainment Gujarati News, Business Gujarati News, Technology Gujarati News, Automobile Gujarati News, Elections 2022 Gujarati News, Viral Social News in Gujarati, Indian Politics News in Gujarati, Gujarati News Headlines, World News In Gujarati, Cricket News In Gujarati

Who will be the next Lok Sabha Speaker? 

| Updated: June 18, 2024 10:54

Opposition wants deputy speaker post, new Speaker to be chosen on June 26

With the new Lok Sabha set to choose a Speaker on June 26, the ruling and Opposition coalitions are trying to reach a consensus on the post. In case of a consensus candidate, the new Speaker will take charge without any contest the same day.

Sources in the government said it does not want a “confrontation” with the Opposition over the issue of Speaker or Deputy Speaker. 

According to sources, the NDA is pitching for a consensus candidate and the Opposition parties agree but are pointing out that according to convention the Opposition should be offered the post of Deputy Speaker.

As the BJP has to first discuss the names within the NDA and then with the Opposition, many party leaders see the possibility of re-nominating Birla for the post. He is the first Speaker since 2004 to have successfully contested the Lok Sabha elections after chairing the proceedings.

But the names of D Purandeswari and senior MP Bhartruhari Mahtab, a seven-term MP who quit the BJD and won on a BJP ticket this election, are also doing the rounds.

“There could be a surprise too. But any name the top leadership picks will be placed before the alliance partners first,” a source in the BJP said.

Allies with NDA 

Sources in the NDA said the allies will agree to a BJP choice, but only after consultations. While the JD(U) has already announced that it will support whatever decision the BJP takes, the TDP has rooted for an NDA candidate. At the NDA meeting, the party will be going with a larger consensus of the NDA on the nomination of the Speaker, a TDP source said.

“We are not going to demand either the Speaker post or for Deputy Speaker. The Deputy Chairman of the Upper House is, anyway, our MP,” a senior leader of the JD(U) said.

After a meeting of BJP senior ministers with NDA partners on Sunday, newly appointed Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju met Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge. However, sources said there was no discussion on the issue of choosing the Speaker and Deputy Speaker at that meeting.

Both in 2014 and 2019, when the BJP had absolute majority in Lok Sabha, party MPs Sumitra Mahajan and Om Birla were elected Speaker without any contest. In the 16th Lok Sabha, AIADMK’s M. Thambi Durai was the Deputy Speaker, but the post remained vacant in the 17th Lok Sabha.

During the Congress-led UPA’s two terms, the post of Deputy Speaker was offered to BJP MPs Charanjit Singh Atwal and Kariya Munda in 2004 and 2009, respectively.

The new Lok Sabha is likely to meet on June 24 and the new members will be sworn in on Monday and Tuesday. The newly elected MPs will be sworn in by the pro-tem Speaker. 

As per convention, the most senior MP is appointed pro-tem Speaker. Congress MP Kodikunnil Suresh, is the most senior MP, who has been elected for an eighth term. He is expected to be made pro-tem Speaker. 

President Droupadi Murmu will address the joint session of Parliament on June 27 and government business is listed for the remaining days until July 3. 

Also Read: Saree Printer Misuses Skills To Make Fake Notes, Nabbed 

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *